University at a Glance

Mahatma Jyotiba Phule Rohilkhand University, Bareilly was established in the year 1975 as an affiliating State Government University. Its status was upgraded to affiliating-cum-residential University in the year 1985. Named after the famous 19th century pioneering social reformer the university is dedicated to the cause of the upliftment of women. At present, there are 21 departments in the University campus and more than 400 affiliated colleges. The University has taken an overall perspective of development plan by including new faculties of Engineering and Technology, Management, Applied Sciences, Education and Allied Science etc. The University campus is located at Pilibhit byepass road with nearly 7 km distance from railway station and 2 km from satellite bus stand. The campus is spread over 206 acres of land. With its territorial jurisdiction extending over the eight districts of western U.P., the University is a premier institution of higher education in the Rohilkhand region. Its primary aim is to impart education – literary, scientific and technical and to promote participation in higher education, which it regards as a democratic entitlement. The academic environment inspires its students to achieve self-reliance through education and make effective contributions to the society and the economy. The university offers an opportunity to invent and reinvent the thoughtful minds, for widening the horizon much beyond their immediate confines. In tune with the goals of the University the different departments of the campus have framed their objectives for keeping pace with the national and international educational scenario. The University is committed for expansion and quality education in a location which is relatively backward but which has a glorious history and has attained the reputation of emerging as a major seat of learning in the State.

FET at a Glance

Faculty of Engineering and Technology (FET) was established in 1995 with an aim to achieve technological excellence through innovation. It caters to the technical manpower requirements at various levels by adopting a new concept of modular system in imparting technical education with emphasis on practical training in industry. The departments of Mechanical Engineering was established in 1996, department offers Bachelor of Technology programme in Mechanical engineering. The department is actively involved in quality teaching and various research projects sponsored by the Institute as well as external agencies.